The Mal de Mers are looking for information on past recipients of their Merit Trophy.

The mainland-based sports club, which arrives on Scilly for its latest visit on Wednesday, has presented an award to a Five Islands School student every year since 1956.


The Merit Trophy is given to the 'boy or girl who, over his or her school career, has contributed something of merit, by his or her example and personal effort made to help others'.


Club member Roy Bound is attempting to create a 'Where are they now?' record for all previous winners of the trophy, which is presented along with a cheque at the annual Guest Night Dinner.


The Mals write in their brochure: "This award is the premier contact with the school and an important link between the islanders and the Club since many earlier holders of the trophy will now be meeting us in our various sports or in the shops/hotels on the islands...


"It would be great to learn how their lives have progressed and to possibly run a feature in next year's brochure."


Anyone with information about previous winners is asked to email


Last year's Merit Trophy was won by Cameron Hicks. 

Information is still sought about the following people: 


2008  James Hick, son of Alex

2001  Leoni and Darren Hicks

2000  Hannah Plevin and Steven Duncan

1999  C.W.Ridsdale works at Truro College

1997  Andre Nicolle

1996  Adam Connisbee

1991  Marie Woodcock

1990  Amy Julian (St. Martins)

1984  Sarah Hunt

1983  Julia Poat

1982  Steven Jenkins (Bryher)

1981  Miss K. Martin

1980  David Pickston

1979  Kay Roberts

1977  Miss G. Evans

1975  Andre Goddard (St. Martins)

1973  P. Palmer Ralph Handy  (cup)

1971  Trevor Williams (cup)

1970  Mr. D. Rosewall

1967  Ann Hicks, cousin of Fraser

1966  Miss P.E. Barker

1964  Mr. T.J. Perry

1962  Diana Morley, sister to John

1961  Mr. M.D. Pender

© All images on this site are either owned by This is Scilly, published under licence or reproduced with kind permission.